

Speaker:

Location:

Speaker:

Location:

On:

On:

# Twenty Fourth Season

April 2009



Susan Page – USA Today, Washington Bureau Chief Friday, April 3, 2009 River of Grass Ballroom

Susan Page is the Washington Bureau chief for *USA Today*, where she writes about the White House and national politics. Ms. Page has covered eight national elections -- including the 2008 campaign. She regularly guest-hosts *The Diane Rehm Show*, a public-affairs call-in program syndicated on NPR stations across the country, and

appears as an analyst on *PBS, CNN, MSNBC, Fox News* and other broadcast outlets. The awards Ms. Page has won include the Gerald R. Ford Prize for Distinguished Reporting on the Presidency, the Merriman Smith Memorial Award for Deadline Reporting on the Presidency and the Sigma Delta Chi Award for Washington Correspondence (shared). She received the Ford Prize in 1991 for covering the elder President Bush for *Newsday* and again in 2002 for covering the younger President Bush for *USA Today*. Her coverage of the 2004 campaign was honored with the Aldo Beckman Award, presented by the White House Correspondents Association for excellence in coverage of the presidency.

Ms. Page joined USA Today as a White House correspondent in 1995 after covering the beat for Newsday. She has served as president of the White House Correspondents Association, chairman of the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards, and was a Pulitzer Prize juror in 2004 and 2005.

A native of Wichita, Kansas, Ms. Page received a bachelor's degree from Northwestern University, where she was editor-in-chief of the *Daily Northwestern*. She received a master's degree from Columbia University, where she was a Pulitzer Fellow. She is married to Carl Leubsdorf, Washington bureau chief of the *Dallas Morning News*. They have two sons, Ben and Will, and she has five stepchildren.



Samuel W. Bodman – Former Secretary of Energy Friday, April 17, 2009 River of Grass Ballroom

Samuel Wright Bodman was sworn in as the 11th Secretary of Energy on February 1, 2005 after the United States Senate unanimously confirmed him on January 31, 2005. Secretary Bodman led the Department of Energy with a budget in excess of \$23 billion and over 100,000 federal and contractor employees. Previously, he served as

Deputy Secretary of the Treasury beginning in February 2004. Secretary Bodman also served the Bush Administration as the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Commerce beginning in 2001.

Born in Chicago, Secretary Bodman graduated in 1961 with a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering from Cornell University. In 1965, he completed his Sc.D. at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. For the next six years, Bodman served as an associate professor of Chemical Engineering at MIT and began his work in the financial sector as Technical Director of the American Research and Development Corporation, a pioneer venture capital firm. In 1983, he was named president and chief operating officer of Fidelity Investments and a director of the Fidelity Group of Mutual Funds. In 1987, he joined Cabot Corporation, a Boston-based Fortune 300 company with global business activities in specialty chemicals and materials, where he served as chairman, C.E.O., and a director.

Secretary Bodman has also been active in public service. He is a former director of M.I.T.'s School of Engineering Practice and a former member of the M.I.T. Commission on Education. He also served as a member of the Executive and Investment Committees at M.I.T., a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and a Trustee of the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum and the New England Aquarium. He is married to M. Diane Bodman, has three children, two stepchildren, and eight grandchildren.

12:00 NoonLuncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel12:45 p.m.Address by Speaker1:15 p.m.Questions from the audience

\*\* PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend \*\*

#### **OFFICERS**

President: Alan M. Horton President Elect: Wade F. Keller Vice President: Ulla Norris Past President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. Secretary: Linda H. Ottenad Treasurer: Thomas A. Bringardner Jr.

### DIRECTORS

Karna Small Bodman James H. Brennan Jr. Penny Briant Shelly Church Andrew P. DeVito M. Kathryn Eickhoff-Smith Joseph G. Fogg III J. Howard Frazer William L. Gunlicks William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu CJ Hueston Kim C. Kantor Roger D. Kempers Marilyn Korest Ralph S. Larsen Josephine A. Morse J. Richard Munro C. Arthur Pearson, M.D. David A. Rismiller Michel Saadeh C. Richard Splittorf William F. Turner Roy B. White

#### PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder	William S. Gentry
1985	Leonard F. Llewellyn
1986	Brenda C. Wilson, Esq.
1987	Robert D. Stakich
1988	Corbin A. Wyant
1989	Tom Shea
1990	Alan R. Korest
1991	John T. Duffner, Esq.
1992	Joe B. Cox, Esq.
1993	William C. Sinclair
1994	John M. Passidomo, Esq.
1995	Donald J. York
1996-1997	Raymond Mueller
1997-1998	R. James Harvey
1998-1999	Carol E. Girardin
1999-2000	Thomas E. Ingram
2000-2001	Linda C. Flewelling
2001-2002	Edwin J. Putzell Jr.
2002-2003	L. Lindsey Halstead
2003-2004	William E. Hoglund
2004-2005	Richard I. Wilson
2005-2006	Carl J. Kuehner
2006-2007	W. Wallace Abbott

# THE FORUM CLUB OF SOUTHWEST FLORIDA 2008-2009 Program

11/7/08	Michael J. Berland, Former C.E.O., Penn, Schoen & Berland
11/21/08	Senator Phil Gramm, ret., Former Texas Congressman/Senator
12/12/08	Michael Ramirez, Editorial Cartoonist, Investor's Business Daily
1/9/09	Vikram S. Pandit, C.E.O., Citigroup, Inc.
1/23/09	Michael K. Farr, CNBC Commentator
1/30/09	General John Abizaid, U.S. Army, ret., Commander, U.S. Central Command
2/13/09	Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman & C.E.O., General Electric
2/20/09	John Bul Dau, Author, "God Grew Tired of Us", Lost Boys of Sudan
3/6/09	Senator David F. Durenberger, ret., Founder, Nat'l. Institute of Health Policy
3/20/09	Dr. Julie L. Gerberding, Former Director,
	Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
4/3/09	Susan Page, USA Today, Washington Bureau Chief
4/17/09	Samuel W. Bodman, Former Secretary of Energy

### **MISSION STATEMENT**

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology;
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards;
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County; and
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students.

# 2008-2009 SCHOLARSHIP DONORS

- Peter Bos Tom Bringardner Wayne Davidson James & Judith Felix Bumpy & Jo Frazer Bill Gunlicks Alan Horton CJ Hueston Al McQuinn Ray Mueller
- Chet & Ulla Norris Linda Ottenad Eric Price Bill Radford Dave Rismiller Michel Saadeh Maury Shea Dick Splittorf Grant Thomas Roy White

## WEBSITE

Be sure to check out the Club's website where you can find audio recordings of a majority of the speakers from the past two years in addition to current newsletters, membership applications, and scholarship donation forms.

#### **INQUIRIES**

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. (239) 436-3574 1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201 Naples, Florida 34102 www.TheForumClub.org / Email@TheForumClub.org