Having trouble viewing this email? Click here



Our twenty-fifth season of prominent speaker programs

April 2010

In This Issue

09-10 Speakers

Lewis Biography

Lewis Guest Ticket <u>Request</u>

Scholarship Donors

OFFICERS

President Wade F. Keller President Elect Ulla Norris Vice President David A. Rismiller Past President Alan M. Horton Secretary CJ Hueston Treasurer Thomas A. Bringardner Ir.

DIRECTORS

William F. Allyn Vincent J. Apruzzese James H. Brennan Jr. Penny Briant Shelly Church Andrew P. DeVito Pauline T. Eide L. Patt Franciosi J. Howard Frazer William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu Kim Ciccarelli Kantor Roger D. Kempers Marilyn Korest Kenneth D. Krier Josephine A. Morse J. Richard Munro Robert G. Nichols Linda H. Ottenad

Charles Lewis

Executive Editor, Investigative Reporting Workshop Friday, April 9, 2010 Naples Beach Hotel, Everglades Dining Room



Charles Lewis is a tenured professor and the founding executive editor of the new *Investigative Reporting Workshop* at American University in Washington, D.C. The Workshop has been established to do significant, original, national and international investigative reporting for multimedia publication or broadcast, and also serve as a laboratory "incubator" to develop new models for conducting and delivering investigative journalism.

National Journalonce described Lewis as "a watchdog in the corridors of power." A national investigative journalist

for 30 years, he is a bestselling author who has founded or co-founded four nonprofit organizations in Washington, including the Center for Public Integrity. In 1989, he left a successful career as an investigative producer for ABC News and the CBS News program *60 Minutes* and began the Center, which under his leadership published roughly 300 investigative reports, including 14 books, from 1989 through 2004, honored more than 30 times by national journalism organizations. In late 1997, he began the Center's International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, the world's first working network of 100 premier reporters in 50 countries producing content across borders.

In 1996, Lewis and the Center issued a report, *Fat Cat Hotel*, which first revealed that the Clinton administration had been rewarding major donors with White House overnight stays in the "Lincoln Bedroom." In 2003, in February the Center posted secret draft "Patriot II" legislation and in October the Center posted all of the known U.S. war contracts in Iraq and Afghanistan. *Windfalls of War*first identified that Halliburton had received the most money from those contracts, and it won the first George Polk Award for Internet Reporting. Lewis was the co-author of five Center books, including national bestseller *The Buying of the President 2004*.

In 1998, he was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship. And in 2004, PEN USA, the respected literary organization, gave its First Amendment award to Lewis, "for expanding the reach of investigative journalism, for his courage in going after a story regardless of whose toes he steps on, and for boldly exercising his freedom of speech and freedom of the press."

Since 2005, Lewis co-founded Global Integrity, which tracks governance and corruption trends around the world, and he has served as founding president of the Fund for Independence in Journalism in Washington, an endowment and legal defense support organization for the Center for Public Integrity. He was a Ferris Professor at Princeton University in 2005, and a Shorenstein Fellow at Harvard University in the spring of 2006.

He is a native of Newark, Delaware, a political science major graduating from the

C. Arthur Pearson Richard M. Rogan Michel Saadeh John M. Stafford William F. Turner

PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder William S. Gentry 1985 Leonard F. Llewellyn 1986 Brenda C. Wilson 1987 Robert D. Stakich 1988 Corbin A. Wyant 1989 Tom Shea 1990 Alan R. Korest 1991 John T. Duffner 1992 Joe B. Cox 1993 William C. Sinclair 1994 John M. Passidomo 1995 Donald J. York 1996-1997 Raymond Mueller 1997-1998 R. James Harvey 1998-1999 Carol E. Girardin 1999-2000 Thomas E. Ingram 2000-2001 Linda C. Flewelling 2001-2002 Edwin J. Putzell Jr. 2002-2003 L. Lindsey Halstead 2003-2004 William E. Hoglund 2004-2005 Richard I. Wilson 2005-2006 Carl J. Kuehner 2006-2007 W. Wallace Abbott 2007-2008 Malcolm B. Chancey Jr.

2009-2010 Speaker Program University of Delaware with honors and distinction in 1975, and earning a masters degree from the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies in 1977. In May 2009, he was awarded an honorary degree by the University of Delaware.

Guest Ticket Request for April 9, 2010 Charles Lewis

To place a request for one guest ticket please submit to <u>email@theforumclub.org</u>. If guest tickets are available, requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by

April 2nd.

They will be mailed by that date and you will be billed \$40, or notified if there is no space. Please remember, guests must be accompanied by a member.

Tickets are Non-exchangeable and Non-refundable

STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP DONORS

A special thank you to the 2009-2010 student scholarship donors. Their generous donations provided scholarships to over 40 students in Collier County.

> Don Alexander Jeanne Anderson Vin Apruzzese Mike Armstrong Betty Jean Bankes John Bean Marilyn Beddor Dick & Karna Bodman Peter Bos Carol Boyd Tom Bringardner Dick Canton Malcolm Chancev Mr. & Mrs. C.A. Cleveland Wayne Davidson Joann Duncan Jim Edwards Joe Fogg Walter Grote Jack Grunewald Jim Harvey **Bob Heidrick** Alan Horton Selmer Iverson Kim & Jan Kantor

Roger Kempers Barbara Lapham Tom Lauber Lou Lowenkron Ed McNamara Al McOuinn George Michaels Josephine A. Morse Ray Mueller Dick Munro Jane Nordlund Chet & Ulla Norris **Richard Onkey** Linda Ottenad Art Pearson Bill Radford Dave Rismiller Dick Rogan Ron Schlemmer Maury & Alicia Shea Ben Tiley Bill Turner Walt Vallett Jim Weaver Roy White Ed Wollman

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

• Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members

NEWT GINGRICH November 6, 2009 Former Speaker of the House of Representatives **TIM PAWLENTY** November 13, 2009 Governor of Minnesota

WILL WHITEHORN December 11, 2009 President, Virgin Galactic

MARGARET SPELLINGS January 8, 2010 Former U.S. Secretary of Education

THOMAS M. HOENIG, Ph.D. January 15, 2010 President, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

DR. ROBERT A. LEVY February 5, 2010 Chairman, CATO Institute

DR. PETER J. PRONOVOST February 19, 2010 Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Medical Director, The Center for Innovations in Quality Patient Care

JOHN G. STUMPF March 5, 2010 President and CEO, Wells Fargo & Company

MICHAEL B. YANNEY March 19, 2010 Chairman, Burlington Capital Group, LLC (To be joined by a U.S. Russian Embassy member)

CHARLES LEWIS April 9, 2010 Executive Editor, Investigating Reporting Workshop

SafeUnsubscribe®

This email was sent to email@theforumclub.org by <u>email@theforumclub.org</u>. <u>Update Profile/Email Address</u> | Instant removal with <u>SafeUnsubscribe</u>[™] | <u>Privacy Policy</u>. Email Marketing by

to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology

- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 1100 Fifth Ave. S Suite 201 Naples, FL 34102 (239) 436-3574

> <u>www.TheForumClub.org</u> <u>Email@TheForumClub.org</u>



Forum Club of Southwest Florida | 1100 Fifth Avenue South | Suite 201 | Naples | FL | 34102