

April 2021

In This Issue

2020-2021 Officers

2020-2021 Directors

2020-2021 Speakers

Allbritton Bio

Bechtel Bio

Speaker Selection

Past Presidents

OFFICERS

President Clark T. Randt Jr.

President-Elect
Susan S. Jones

Vice President Edward M. Liddy

Past President Joseph G. Fogg III

SecretaryRobert J. Stucker

Treasurer Christopher P. Bray

DIRECTORS

Lew F. Allyn Randall W. Antik Paul V. Applegarth William E. Bindley Carol B. Boyd



Robert L. Allbritton Owner and Founder Capitol News Company Friday, April 2, 2021

Robert L. Allbritton is founder, chairman and publisher of POLITICO, a global nonpartisan politics and policy news organization. With a staff of

over 700, POLITICO is headquartered in Washington, D.C. with operations in Brussels, New York, London, Paris, California, and Florida.

He is also founder and publisher of Protocol.com, a new publication reporting on the intersection of the people, power, and politics of technology. Protocol has operations in San Francisco, New York and London.

Mr. Allbritton serves on the Board of Directors of the Lyndon B. Johnson Foundation, Austin, Texas. He is a Trustee Emeritus of Wesleyan University, Middletown, CT, and The George Washington University.

He is a native of Houston, Texas, is a graduate of Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut, where he majored in government. He is a member of the Alfalfa Club, and the Metropolitan Club in Washington, D.C., and the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club in La Jolla, California.

Mr. Allbritton is an avid skier, and a licensed commercial pilot. He is married to Dr. Elena Hardy Allbritton, M.D., a dermatologist practicing in Chevy Chase, MD. Their primary focus is on their three children.

Brendan Bechtel

CEO Bechtel Corporation Friday, April 16, 2021

Brendan Bechtel is Chairman

Ilona J. Box Duncan J. Cameron Nancy H. Donovan Robert J. Eaton Adam C. English Jeanette L. Evert Michael K. Farr Paul Greenberg Webb C. Hayes Raynelle Heidrick James P. Johannsen William R. Johnson Ned C. Lautenbach Ulla Norris Garrett S. Richter Ronald N. Riner, M.D. Francis Rooney L. Patt Schneider

2020-2021 SPEAKERS

Elizabeth K. Wessel

11-13-2020 Alex Gorskey Chairman & CEO Johnson & Johnson

12-4-2020 Niloofar Razi Howe Nat'l & Cyber Security

John Bolton Former U.S. Ambassador to U.N.

1-22-2021 Chad A. Mirkin, Ph.D. Dir., Int'l Institute for Nanotechnology

2-5-2021 Dariush Mozaffarian, M.D.

Dean, Friedman School of Nutrition Science & Policy

2-19-2021 Rahm Emanuel Former Mayor of

Chicago
Former White House
Chief of Staff

2-26-2021



and Chief Executive Officer of Bechtel Group, Inc. Prior to being elected chairman in April, 2017, Brendan was named Bechtel's chief executive officer in September, 2016. He was Bechtel's president and chief operating officer from 2014–2016.

Mr. Bechtel first began working for the company during summer breaks in high school. After joining the company full time, he took on

roles of increasing responsibility in field construction, project management and executive leadership. He is the 5th generation of the Bechtel family to lead the company.

Mr. Bechtel graduated with a bachelor's degree in geography from Middlebury College. He also earned two master's degrees from Stanford: an MBA and an MSE in construction engineering and management.

He serves on the Board of Directors of the Business Roundtable, where he chairs the Infrastructure Committee. Mr. Bechtel is a trustee of the National Geographic Society and the Center for Strategic and International Studies, and he serves on the board of advisors of Fremont Group. He is also a member of the American Society of Corporate Executives and the Council on Foreign Relations.

Brendan is based in the Washington, D.C. area.

Click Here for Instructions on Joining a Zoom Meeting

LINK WILL BE SENT THE WEEK OF EACH WEBINAR

When that email arrives, please DO NOT delete it as it contains the live link to enter the Zoom Webinar for that week.

FORUM CLUB SPEAKER SELECTION

The Program Committee's goal is to bring the best speakers to the Forum Club. The criteria for the speaker selection requires that each speaker have a Gwynne Shotwell President & COO SpaceX

3-5-2021 Eric E. SilagyChair & CEO
Florida Power & Light

3-19-2021 Eric M. Verdin, M.D.

Buck Institute for Research on Aging

> 4-2-2021 Robert Allbritton

Owner and Founder Capital News Co.

4-16-2021 Brendan Bechtel CEO, Bechtel Corp. reputation as an outstanding well-respected leader and role model in his/her area of expertise.

To offer program variety, speakers are selected from the government, corporate, financial, international, media, health care, technology, and other fields.

This year's Program Committee, chaired by President-Elect Susan Jones, has begun its efforts to secure speakers for the next season.

While the Forum Club provides for transportation and hotel expenses, it does not offer its speakers honoraria. The Club encourages all members to assist in securing potential speakers with whom they have contact. If you have a suggestion of a potential speaker, please contact the Forum Club office or Program Committee Chair, Susan Jones.

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County.
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

PAST PRESIDENTS

Joseph G. Fogg, III 2019-2020

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018

Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017

Shelly Church 2015-2016

Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015

William F. Allyn 2013-2014

Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013

David A. Rismiller 2011-2012 Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001

Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000

Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999

R. James Harvey* 1997-1998

Raymond Mueller* 1996-1997

Donald J. York 1995

John M. Passidomo 1994

William C. Sinclair* 1993

> Joe B. Cox 1992

Ulla Norris 2010-2011

Wade F. Keller 2009-2010

Alan M. Horton 2008-2009

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008

W. Wallace Abbott 2006-2007

Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006

Richard I. Wilson 2004-2005

William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004

L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003

Edward J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002

John T. Duffner* 1991

Alan R. Korest 1990

Tom Shea* 1989

Corbin A. Wyant 1988

Robert D. Stakich* 1987

Brenda C. Wilson 1986

Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985

William S. Gentry* Founder

*deceased

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199, Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3475 forumclub@TheForumClub.org www.TheForumClub.org