

Prominent Speaker Programs

Twenty Fourth Season December / January



Speaker: Michael Ramirez – Editorial Cartoonist, *Investor's Business Daily*

On: Friday, December 12, 2008
Location: River of Grass Ballroom

Mr. Michael Ramirez is a two-time winner of the prestigious Pulitzer Prize in 1994 and 2008 and a three-time Sigma Delta Chi, Society of Professional Journalism Award winner. Mr. Ramirez is a Senior Editor and the editorial cartoonist for *Investor's Business Daily*. He is a Lincoln Fellow, an

honorary member of Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society, and has won almost every journalism award in addition to the prestigious UCI Medal from the University of California, Irvine and the 2005 National Journalism Award, the 2008 Fischetti Award and The H. L. Mencken Award and is the author of the new book, *Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion* (http://ibdeditorials.com/ramirezbook/?src=TOPBOOK).

A regular contributor to *USA Today* and formerly a regular guest on *The News Hour with Jim Lehrer* on *PBS Television*, Mr. Ramirez's work is seen world-wide with a distribution of over four hundred newspapers and magazines through Creators Syndicate. He has been on *CNN*, *CNN International*, *BBC Television*, *BBC Radio*, *NPR*, *the Michael Reagan Show* and is a highly acclaimed international speaker. The former editorial cartoonist for the *Los Angeles Times*, his cartoons have been featured on *CNN*, *Fox News*, *The Bill O'Reilly Show*, and *The Rush Limbaugh Show*. His work can be seen in such publications as *The New York Times*, *The Washington Post*, *The New York Post*, *Time Magazine*, *The Weekly Standard*, *National Review* and *US News and World Report*.

Born in Japan, Mr. Ramirez's father was first generation Mexican-American, his mother Japanese. He is a 1984 graduate in fine arts of the University of California at Irvine. Mr. Ramirez resides in south Orange County.



Speaker: **Vikram Pandit** – C.E.O., Citigroup, Inc

On: Friday, January 9, 2009
Location: Everglades Dining Room

Mr. Vikram Pandit is the Chief Executive Officer of Citigroup Inc. Before being named C.E.O. in 2007, Mr. Pandit was Chairman and C.E.O. of Citi's Institutional Clients Group, which includes Markets & Banking and Citi Alternative Investments. Formerly the Chairman and C.E.O. of

Citi Alternative Investments, he was a founding member and chairman of the members committee of Old Lane, LP which was acquired by Citigroup in 2007. Prior to that, Mr. Pandit was President and Chief Operating Officer of Morgan Stanley's institutional securities and investment banking business and was a member of the firm's Management Committee.

Mr. Pandit serves on the boards of Columbia University, Columbia Business School, the Indian School of Business, and Trinity School. He is a former board member of NASDAQ, the New York City Investment Fund, and the American India Foundation.

Born in India, Mr. Pandit moved to the United States when he was sixteen to study at Columbia University. He received a B.S. degree in 1976 and an M.S. degree in 1977 in electrical engineering. He also earned a Ph.D. in finance from Columbia University in 1986. Mr. Pandit resides in New York with his wife and two children.

12:00 Noon Luncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel

12:45 p.m. Address by Speaker

1:15 p.m. Questions from the audience

** PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend **

OFFICERS

President: Alan M. Horton
President Elect: Wade F. Keller
Vice President: Ulla Norris
Past President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr.
Secretary: Linda H. Ottenad
Treasurer: Thomas A. Bringardner Jr.

DIRECTORS

Karna Small Bodman James H. Brennan Jr. Penny Briant Michelle M. Church Andrew P. DeVito M. Kathryn Eickhoff-Smith Joseph G. Fogg III J. Howard Frazer William L. Gunlicks William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu CJ Hueston Kim C. Kantor Roger D. Kempers Marilyn Korest Ralph S. Larsen Josephine A. Morse J. Richard Munro C. Arthur Pearson, M.D. David A. Rismiller Michel Saadeh C. Richard Splittorf William F. Turner

PAST PRESIDENTS

Roy B. White

Founder	William S. Gentry
1985	Leonard F. Llewellyn
1986	Brenda C. Wilson, Esq.
1987	Robert D. Stakich
1988	Corbin A. Wyant
1989	Tom Shea
1990	Alan R. Korest
1991	John T. Duffner, Esq.
1992	Joe B. Cox, Esq.
1993	William C. Sinclair
1994	John M. Passidomo, Esq.
1995	Donald J. York
1996-1997	Raymond Mueller
1997-1998	R. James Harvey
1998-1999	Carol E. Girardin
1999-2000	Thomas E. Ingram
2000-2001	Linda C. Flewelling
2001-2002	Edwin J. Putzell Jr.
2002-2003	L. Lindsey Halstead
2003-2004	William E. Hoglund
2004-2005	Richard I. Wilson
2005-2006	Carl J. Kuehner
2006-2007	W. Wallace Abbott

THE FORUM CLUB OF SOUTHWEST FLORIDA

2008-2009 Program

11/7/08	Michael J. Berland, Former C.E.O., Penn, Schoen & Berland
11/21/08	Senator Phil Gramm, ret., Former Texas Congressman/Senator
12/12/08	Michael Ramirez, Editorial Cartoonist, Investor's Business Daily
1/9/09	Vikram S. Pandit, C.E.O., Citigroup, Inc.
1/23/09	Michael K. Farr, CNBC Commentator
1/30/09	General John Abizaid, U.S. Army, ret., Commander, U.S. Central Command
2/13/09	Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman & C.E.O., General Electric
2/20/09	John Bul Dau, Author, "God Grew Tired of Us", Lost Boys of Sudan
3/6/09	Senator David F. Durenberger, ret., Founder, Nat'l. Institute of Health Policy
3/20/09	Dr. Julie L. Gerberding, Director, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
4/3/09	Susan Page, USA Today, Washington Bureau Chief
4/17/09	Samuel W. Bodman, Secretary of Energy

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology;
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards;
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County; and
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students.

NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED

James H. Brennan Jr. Marilyn Korest
Andrew P. DeVito Josephine A. Morse
J. Howard Frazer J. Richard Munro
Roger D. Kempers, M.D. David A. Rismiller

2008-2009 STANDING COMMITTEES

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

Audit James H. Brennan Jr.
Hospitality Linda H. Ottenad
Membership Ulla Norris
Nominating Wade F. Keller
Programs Wade F. Keller
Student Guests Michelle M. Church
Technology Carl Kuehner

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. (239) 436-3574 1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201 Naples, Florida 34102 www.TheForumClub.org / Email@TheForumClub.org