<u>confirm</u> your continued interest in receiving email from us.

You may <u>unsubscribe</u> if you no longer wish to receive our emails.



Our thirty-fourth season of prominent speaker programs

December 2018

In This Issue

2018-2019 Speakers

<u>Djorgovski Bio</u>

Djorgovski Guest Ticket <u>Requests</u>

2018-2019 Standing Committee

New Directors Elected

OFFICERS

President Verne G. Istock

President-Elect Joseph G. Fogg III

Vice President Clark T. Randt, Jr.

Past President Richard S. Bodman

Secretary David A. Rismiller

Treasurer Susan S. Jones

DIRECTORS

Lew F. Allyn Kirt E. Anderson Christopher P. Bray Duncan J. Cameron Clay W. Cone Mark M. Danni Robert J. Eaton

S. George Djorgovski

Professor Astronomy Caltech University Naples Beach Hotel, River of Grass Dining Room Friday, December 7, 2018



S. George Djorgovski is a professor and the executive officer (Dept. Chair) for Astronomy, and the Director of the Center for Data-Driven Discovery at the California Institute of Technology. He received his Ph.D. in Astronomy in 1985, from the University of California, Berkeley, and was a Harvard Junior Fellow prior to joining the Caltech faculty in 1987.

His research encompassed a broad variety of topics, including structure and dynamics of globular clusters, fundamental properties of galaxies and their evolution, gamma-ray

bursts, early phases of galaxy and structure formation, distant quasars, dark energy, and exploration of the time domain in astronomy. He is the author or a coauthor of about 600 scientific papers. He has led several large digital sky surveys, and is one of the founders of the Virtual Observatory framework, which is now the global data grid of astronomy, as well as the emerging discipline of Astroinformatics. More recently, his interests focused on data science, and the emergence of a new scientific methodology for the data rich science in the 21st century. This involves uses of Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence for data analysis, and Virtual Reality as a scientific and scholarly platform, which led to the creation of a startup company, Virtualitics, Inc., where he is a Co-Founder and the Chief Virtual Reality Officer.

Curt C. Edwards Frank C. Fontana Anne Russell Foster Bradley L. Heiges James P. Johannsen Ned C. Lautenbach Edward M. Liddy Ulla Norris Janet P. Rathbun Garrett Richter L. Patt Schneider Kenton J. Sicchitano Louis A. Simpson Robert J. Stucker Roselyn S. Travis Marjorie H. Weaver Elizabeth K. Wessel

PAST PRESIDENTS

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018 Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017 Shelly Church 2015-2016 Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015 William F. Allyn 2013-2014 Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013 David A. Rismiller 2011-2012 Ulla Norris 2010-2011 Wade F. Keller 2009-2010 Alan M. Horton 2008-2009 Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008 W. Wallace Abbott 2006-2007 Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006 Richard I. Wilson 2004-2005 William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004 L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003 Edward J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002 Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001 Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000 Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999 R. James Harvey 1997-1998

Dr. Djorgovski has served the scientific community in a number of leadership roles, including as the Chair of the National Virtual Observatory Science Definition Team; as the director or the Meta Institute for Computational Astrophysics; as the co-director of the Center for Advanced Computing Research; and as the co-chair of the Keck Observatory Science Steering Committee. He has earned numerous recognitions, including the Presidential Young Investigator Award, the Dudley Observatory Award, the NASA Group Achievement Award, and first prize in the Boeing-Griffith Science Writing Contest, as well as fellowships with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The asteroid 24421 Djorgovski is named in his honor.

Guest Ticket Requests for December 7, 2018 S. George Djorgovski

To place a request for one guest ticket please submit to <u>forumclub@theforumclub.org</u>

If guests tickets are available requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by

November 30th They will be mailed by that date and you will be billed \$40, or notified

if there is no space.

Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable

2018-2019 STANDING COMMITTEE

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

AUDIT Chris Bray

HOSPITALITY Janet Rathbun

MEMBERSHIP Sandy Randt

> PROGRAM Joe Fogg

STUDENT GUEST Beth Wessel

NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED *Please welcome the newly elected class of 2018*

Lew F. Allyn

Raymond Mueller* 1996-1997 Donald J. York 1995 John M. Passidomo 1994 William C. Sinclair* 1993 Joe B. Cox 1992 John T. Duffner* 1991 Alan R. Korest 1990 Tom Shea 1989 Corbin A. Wyant 1988 Robert D. Stakich* 1987 Brenda C. Wilson 1986 Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985 William S. Gentry* Founder

*deceased

2018-2019 SPEAKER PROGRAM

JOHN CORNYN November 16, 2018 Senator, Texas

GEORGE DJORGOVSKI December 7, 2018 Professor of Astronomy Caltech

DAVID ABNEY January 11, 2019 Chairman and CEO UPS

MICHAEL PILLSBURY January 25, 2019 Senior Fellow, Director Chinese Strategy Hudson Inst.

PETER PRONOVOST, M.D. February 1, 2019 Senior V.P. John Hopkins Medicine

DANIEL HENNINGER February 15, 2019 Deputy Editor Wall Street Journal

ALLISON HICKEY March 8, 2019 Brigadier General (ret.) Astronaut, Director Future Total Force Directorate Duncan J. Cameron Robert J. Eaton James P. Johannsen Ned C. Lautenbach Ulla Norris Garrett Richter Elizabeth K. Wessel

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199 Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3574

> <u>www.TheForumClub.org</u> <u>forumclub@TheForumClub.org</u>

BRET BAIER March 22, 2019 Chief Political Anchor Anchor of Special Report with Bret Baier FOX News Channel

DENNIS A. MUILENBURG April 5, 2019 Chairman, President & CEO The Boeing Co.

MITCHELL DANIELS, JR. April 19, 2019 President Purdue University