

Our thirty-fifth season of prominent speaker programs

December 2019

In This Issue

2019-2020 Speakers

Michaels Bio

Michaels Guest Ticket Requests

2019-2020 Standing Committee

New Directors Elected

OFFICERS

PresidentJoseph G. Fogg III

President-ElectClark T. Randt, Jr.

Vice President Susan S. Jones

Past President Verne G. Istock

Secretary Robert J. Stucker

Treasurer Christopher P. Bray

DIRECTORS

Lew F. Allyn
Paul V. Applegarth
William E. Bindley
Carol B. Boyd
Duncan J. Cameron
Sheila A. Clarke
Mark M. Danni
Robert J. Eaton
Adam C. English
Michael K. Farr

Patrick J. Michaels

Member Carbon Dioxide Coalition Naples Beach Hotel, Everglades Dining Room Friday, December 6, 2019



Patrick J. Michaels is a Senior Fellow with the Competitive Enterprise Institute and a member of the CO2 Coalition in Arlington, VA. He was Director of the Center for the Study of Science at the Cato Institute, research professor of Environmental Sciences at University of Virginia for 30 years, and Virginia State Climatologist for 27 years, President of the American Association of State Climatologists, and program chair for the Committee on Applied Climatology of the American Meteorological Society.

Michaels has published numerous articles on climate or its impact in the peer-reviewed scientific literature and is author of eight books, including the recent "Lukewarming," published by Cato Books, and co-author of the climate "Paper of the Year" awarded by the Association of American Geographers in 2004. He holds A.B. and S.M. degrees in biology and biological sciences from the University of Chicago, and a Ph.D. in Ecological Climatology from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. In November, 2019 his new book appeared, co-authored and edited with Terrence Kealey, titled "Scientocracy: The Tangled Web of Public Science and Public Policy."

Guest Ticket Requests for December 6, 2019 Patrick J. Michaels

To place a request for one guest ticket please submit to forumclub@theforumclub.org

Frank C. Fontana
Anne Russell Foster
Webb C. Hayes
James P. Johannsen
Ned C. Lautenbach
Edward M. Liddy
Ulla Norris
Garrett Richter
L. Patt Schneider
Kenton J. Sicchitano
Louis A. Simpson
Roselyn S. Travis
Marjorie H. Weaver
Elizabeth K. Wessel

2019-2020 SPEAKER PROGRAM

C. ROBERT KEHLER November 15, 2019

General (Ret.), USAF Commander, U.S. Strategic Command

PATRICK J. MICHAELS

December 6, 2019

Director

Carbon Dioxide Coalition

CHRISTOPHER HILL January 10, 2020

Ambassador Former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asia and the Pacific

FRANCIS ROONEY January 24, 2020

Congressman, Florida

DANIEL FRANKLIN February 7, 2020

Executive and Diplomatic Editor

The Economist

NEERA TANDEN February 21, 2020

President
Center for American Progress

RON DESANTIS

March 6, 2020 Governor, Florida

RICK SCOTT March 20, 2020 If guests tickets are available requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

They will be mailed by that date and you will be billed \$42, or notified if there is no space.

Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable

2019-2020 STANDING COMMITTEE

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

AUDIT

Chris Bray

HOSPITALITY

Roz Travis

MEMBERSHIP

Susan Jones

PROGRAM

Sandy Randt

STUDENT GUEST

Beth Wessel

NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED

Please welcome the newly elected class of 2019

Paul V. Applegarth William E. Bindley Sheila A. Clarke Carol B. Boyd Adam C. English Michael K. Farr Webb C. Hayes

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

PAST PRESIDENTS

LARRY MERLO April 3, 2020 President and CEO CVS Health

JAMES GORMAN April 17, 2020 CEO, Morgan Stanley

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019 Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018 Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017 **Shelly Church** 2015-2016 Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015 William F. Allyn 2013-2014 Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013 David A. Rismiller 2011-2012 **Ulla Norris** 2010-2011 Wade F. Keller 2009-2010 Alan M. Horton 2008-2009 Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008 W. Wallace Abbott 2006-2007 Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006 Richard I. Wilson 2004-2005 William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004 L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003 Edward J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002

Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001 Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000 Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999 R. James Harvey* 1997-1998 Raymond Mueller* 1996-1997 Donald J. York 1995 John M. Passidomo 1994 William C. Sinclair* 1993 Joe B. Cox 1992 John T. Duffner* 1991 Alan R. Korest 1990 Tom Shea 1989 Corbin A. Wvant 1988 Robert D. Stakich* 1987 Brenda C. Wilson 1986 Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985 William S. Gentry* **Founder**

*deceased

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199
Naples, FL 34105
(239) 436-3574

www.TheForumClub.org forumclub@TheForumClub.org

