

Our thirty-seventh season of prominent speaker programs

December 2021

In This Issue

- 2021-2022 Officers
- 2021-2022 Directors
- 2021-2022 Speakers
 - **Brill Biography**
 - **Past Presidents**

OFFICERS

President Susan S. Jones

President-Elect Edward M. Liddy

Vice President Elizabeth K. Wessel

Past President Clark T. Randt Jr.

Secretary Francis Rooney

Treasurer Christopher P. Bray

DIRECTORS

Randall W. Antik Paul V. Applegarth James N. Barton William E. Bindley Ilona J. Box Carol B. Boyd Todd L. Bradley



Alex Brill

Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute Friday, December 10, 2021 **The Ritz-Carlton, Tiburon**

Alex Brill is a senior fellow at the American Enterprise Institute (AEI), where he studies the impact of tax policy on the U.S. economy as well as the fiscal, economic, and political consequences of tax, budget, health

care, retirement security, and trade policies. Brill is also the founder and CEO of Matrix Global Advisors, an economic consulting firm based in Washington, DC.

Brill is the editor of "Carbon Tax Policy: A Conservative Dialogue on Pro-Growth Opportunities" (2017) and the co-author, with Alan D. Viard, of "The Real Tax Burden: More Than Dollars and Cents" (2011). He has testified numerous times before Congress on tax policy, energy policy, labor markets and unemployment insurance, Social Security reform, fiscal stimulus, the manufacturing sector, and drug competition.

Previously, Brill served as the policy director and chief economist of the House Committee on Ways and Means (2002-2007) and on the staff of the White House Council of Economic Advisers (2001-2002). He has also served on the staff of the Simpson-Bowles Commission and the Republican Platform Committee (2008).

Brill has an M.A. in mathematical finance from Boston University, and a B.A. in economics from Tufts University. He and his wife live in Arlington, VA, with their two children.

2021-2022 STANDING COMMITTEES

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

> **AUDIT** Paul Applegarth

HOSPITALITY Janet Rathbun

MEMBERSHIP Beth Wessel

Nancy H. Donovan Sandra M. Edwards Pauline T. Eide Adam C. English Jeanette M. Evert Michael K. Farr J. Douglas Gray Paul Greenberg Webb C. Hayes Raynelle Heidrick William R. Johnson James R. Lozelle Janet P. Rathbun Ronald N. Riner, M.D. L. Patt Schneider John C. Smarge William D. Swartz, D.V.M.

PROGRAM Ed Liddy

STUDENT GUEST Polly Eide

NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED

Please welcome the newly elected class of 2021

Todd L. Bradley Sandra M. Edwards Pauline T. Eide J. Douglas Gray James R. Lozelle Janet P. Rathbun John C. Smarge William D. Swartz, D.V.M.

2021-2022 SPEAKER PROGRAM

NIKKI HALEY November 19, 2021 Fmr. U.S. Ambassador to the U.N., Fmr. Governor, S.C.

ALEX BRILL December 10, 2021 Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute

ALMAR LATOUR January 7, 2022 CEO, Dow Jones & Co.

AMB. HUGO LLORENS, ret. January 14, 2022 Fmr. Ambassador to Afghanistan

DAVID W. MacLENNAN February 4, 2022 Chairman & CEO, Cargill LT. GENERAL (ret.) H.R. McMASTER February 18, 2022 Fmr. National Security Advisor

DOUGLAS E. VAUGHAN, M.D. February 25, 2022 Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

JAMES GORMAN March 18, 2022 CEO, Morgan Stanley

PENNY PENNINGTON April 1, 2022 Managing Partner, Edward Jones

SHELLEY BROADER April 8, 2022 Fmr. President & CEO, Chico's FAS, Inc.

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards

• Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County.

• Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

PAST PRESIDENTS

Clark T. Randt, Jr. 2020-2021

Joseph G. Fogg, III 2019-2020

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018

Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017

Shelly Church 2015-2016

Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015

William F. Allyn 2013-2014

Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013

David A. Rismiller 2011-2012

Ulla Norris 2010-2011

Wade F. Keller 2009-2010

Alan M. Horton 2008-2009

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008

W. Wallace Abbott 2006-2007

Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006

Richard I. Wilson* 2004-2005

William E. Hoglund* 2003-2004

L. Lindsey Halstead* 2002-2003 Edward J. Putzell Jr.* 2001-2002

Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001

Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000

Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999

R. James Harvey* 1997-1998

Raymond Mueller* 1996-1997

> Donald J. York 1995

John M. Passidomo 1994

William C. Sinclair* 1993

> Joe B. Cox 1992

John T. Duffner* 1991

Alan R. Korest 1990

> Tom Shea* 1989

Corbin A. Wyant 1988

Robert D. Stakich* 1987

Brenda C. Wilson 1986

Leonard F. Llewellyn* 1985

William S. Gentry* Founder

*deceased

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199, Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3475

forumclub@TheForumClub.org www.TheForumClub.org