

# Our twenty-first season of prominent speaker programs

February 2006



Hank Asher

Speaker: Mr. Hank Asher – Database Innovator

Topic: "Data Mining – A Billion Dollar Industry and a Unique Law Enforcement Tool"

On: Friday, February 10, 2006
Location: Everglades Dining Room

Hank Asher founded Asher Painting when he was eighteen years old, had one hundred painters when he was twenty-one and sold the company in 1982 when it was doing about \$10 million a year. When the personal computer came out in the 1980's, Asher became enthralled. While the world was trying to get the PC to run a hundred disparate programs, Asher envisioned hundreds of PC's working together on a single program. He employed this vision when he founded and built DataBase Technologies and then later Seisint.

Mr. Asher founded DataBase Technologies in 1992. It first traded on the NASDAQ (DBTO) and then to the NYSE (DBT) where it had a marketcap of \$700 million when he left in 1997. DBT later merged with ChoicePoint. He founded Seisint in 1998, which was sold to Reed

Elsevier in 2004 for \$775 million. His systems have revolutionized the investigative industries. From law enforcement to insurance fraud, Asher systems are used millions of times a day aiding government and commerce to make society safer.

Mr. Asher sits on the Board of Directors of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC). His systems have been donated to NCMEC since 1993 where they are used thousands of times a day looking for abductors, molesters and missing children.



Christophe Fournier

Speaker: Dr. Christophe Fournier, Program Director – Doctors Without Borders, USA Inc.

Topic: "Worldwide Emergency Health Care"
On: Friday, February 24, 2006
Location: River of Grass Ballroom

Dr. Christophe Fournier is Program Director for Doctors Without Borders / Médecins Sans Frontiéres (MSF) in the United States. In this capacity, he oversees the program department, which monitors and interacts with MSF field projects around the globe. The department also manages the advocacy work of MSF in the U.S., including interactions with the U.S. Government and the United Nations.

Previously, Dr. Fournier was Operations Manager for field projects in Burundi, Iran, Peru, Cambodia, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, Thailand and Uganda. During this period, Dr. Fournier oversaw all aspects of MSF's field projects and other operations in those countries; coordinating staff and supplies and representing MSF with local governments.

He recently delivered a statement to the United Nations Security Council regarding the concerns about the current crisis faced by people in Haiti, in particular in Port au Prince. Dr. Fournier received his M.D. from the University of Clermont-Ferrand in France, and also holds a degree in Tropical Medicine and another degree in Epidemiology and Biostatistics.

Awarded the 1999 Nobel Peace Prize, Doctors Without Borders, (MSF) is an independent, international, medical relief agency aiding victims of armed conflict, epidemics and natural and man-made disasters, and social and ethnic marginalization in more than 80 countries. MSF was founded in 1971 by a small group of French doctors who believed that all people have the right to medical care regardless of race, religion, creed or political affiliation, and that the needs of these people supersede respect for national borders. It was the first non-governmental organization to provide both emergency medical assistance and publicly bear witness to the plight of the populations they served.

12:00 Noon Luncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel

12:45 p.m. Address by Speaker

1:15 p.m. Questions from the audience

\*\* PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend \*\*

Please return the enclosed quest ticket request form

### 2005-2006 OFFICERS

President: Carl J. Kuehner President-Elect: William W. Abbott Vice President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. Secretary: Mary Brett

Secretary: Mary Brett Treasurer: Daniel N. Keller Past President: Richard I. Wilson

#### **DIRECTORS**

Tarik Ayasun Betty Jean Bankes Patricia M. Barton Dawn Litchfield Brown Marilyn M. Brown John F. Cauley J. Howard Frazer Robert M. Gerrity Peter L. Girardin Frank M. Harris Alan M. Horton Wade F. Keller Suzanne E. Lount Rodger R. Lundblad, M.D. Thomas J. McCausland Jr. Gerri Moll Josephine A. Morse Calvin J. Pratt Lawrence R. Pugh James Rideoutte Elliott H. Singer David F. Smith

### Edward E. Wollman PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder William S. Gentry 1985 Leonard F. Llewellyn Brenda C. Wilson, Esq. 1986 1987 Robert D. Stakich 1988 Corbin A. Wyant 1989 Tom Shea 1990 Alan R. Korest 1991 John T. Duffner, Esq. 1992 Joe B. Cox, Esq. 1993 William C. Sinclair John M. Passidomo, Esq. 1994 Donald J. York 1995 1996-1997 Raymond Mueller 1997-1998 R. James Harvey 1998-1999 Carol E. Girardin 1999-2000 Thomas E. Ingram Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001 2001-2002 Edwin J. Putzell Jr. 2002-2003 L. Lindsey Halstead 2003-2004 William E. Hoglund Richard I. Wilson 2004-2005

### **INQUIRIES**

Please address all inquiries to:
Ellie Krier
Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc.
1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201
Naples, FL 34102
(239) 436-3574
Email: forumclub@earthlink.net

## THE FORUM CLUB OF SOUTHWEST FLORIDA 2005-2006 Program

	<u>o</u>
11/18/05	David Neeleman, CEO, JetBlue Airways
1/6/06	Robert D. Hormats, Vice Chairman, Goldman Sachs
1/20/06	David A. Jones, Co-Founder/Chairman, Emeritus Humana Inc.
1/27/06	Robert G. Scott, President/COO (Retired), Morgan Stanley
2/10/06	Hank Asher, Database Innovator
2/24/06	Christophe Fournier, Program Director, Doctors Without Borders
3/10/06	James Brown, FOX Sports Commentator
3/24/06	Dr. Susan Desmond-Hellman, President, Genentech
4/7/06	Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
4/14/06	John E. McLaughlin, Director, CIA (Retired)

### MISSION STATEMENT

#### The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Present the most prominent and knowledgeable speakers from corporate, economic, governmental and international fields;
- Interest and inform its members on current issues and trends;
- · Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards, and
- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere.

### WELCOME NEW MEMBERS

James K. Ashford	Peter L. Manion
June B. Alexander	F. Joseph McMackin III
James C. Alexander Jr.	George Michaels
Rev. Michael Basden	Richard E. Mohn
Glen T. Blauch Jr.	John M. Morrison
Richard J. Borchers	J. Richard Munro
E. Jack Brendamour	William R. Neal
Roger Bruttomesso	Scott E. O'Dell
Katherine R. Carman	Richard Onkey M.D.
Lynn J. DeFreest, M.D.	Lynn H. Orr
Mark A. DeVoe	Konald A. Prem M.D.
James J. Edwards	Dottie Putzell
Dan C. Ferguson	Joe M. Roberts
Joseph G. Fogg III	Christopher W. Roberts
Herbert J. Graebner	Ned Sachs
Robert T. Hale	Jane Shaeffer
Ann Helmsderfer	Patrick E. Sharp
G. Burtt Holmes M.D.	Robert P. Singer
Lee Kapor	Stephen P. Toadvine III
Lloyd N. Liggett	Tuck Tyler
Stan Lipp	Suzanne Williamson
John G. Lynch	Lisa D. Zack M.D.

### NEW MEMBER APPLICATIONS

Applications for membership must be signed by two Forum Club members and returned to the Executive Director. The applicant is then added to the wait list.