

On:

On:

# Twenty Fourth Season

March 2009



Speaker: **Sen. David F. Durenberger, ret.** – Founder, National Institute of Health Policy Friday, March 6, 2009 Location: **River of Grass Ballroom** 

David Durenberger was elected to replace Hubert and Muriel Humphrey as senior U.S. Senator from Minnesota in 1978. Senator Durenberger is the only Minnesotan Republican in history elected to three terms in the Senate. The Senator retired in 1995, having served sixteen years on the Senate Finance

Committee where he was chair or ranking on its health subcommittee. He also served twelve years on Environment and Public Works, ten years on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, four years on Government Affairs, and eight years on the Select Committee on Intelligence, which he chaired in 1985-86.

Senator Durenberger is founder and current chair of the National Institute of Health Policy at the Opus College of Business of the University of St. Thomas in Minneapolis. He has also served on various national health commissions and boards including the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission. He currently serves on the board of the National Commission on Quality Assurance (NCQA) and the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. Senator Durenberger has authored books on health policy and national security policy, is a national public speaker, and writes a bi-weekly national commentary on current events.



Julie Louise Gerberding, M.D., M.P.H. - Former Director, Centers for Speaker:

**Disease Control and Prevention** 

Friday, March 20, 2009

In her six years as the first woman director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Dr. Gerberding guided the nation's leading public health agency through an era of rapid growth and innovative transformation. After earning a B.A. magna cum laude in chemistry and biology and a

M.D. at Case Western Reserve University, Gerberding completed her residency in internal medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, where she also served as Chief Medical Resident before completing her fellowship in Clinical Pharmacology and Infectious Diseases. She earned a M.P.H. degree at the University of California, Berkeley in 1990.

Dr. Gerberding joined CDC in 1998 as director of the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion. Her timely and commanding response to the anthrax scare in 2001 led Secretary Tommy Thompson to appoint her as CDC Director in July 2002. Dr. Gerberding led a dramatic expansion of CDC's portfolio to encompass preparedness for bioterrorism, pandemics, and other emerging health threats, as well as global health programs in more than 45 countries. In addition, she led a strategic restructuring of CDC, developed new national centers to conduct research and oversaw a \$1.6 billion capital improvement program.

Dr. Gerberding's accomplishments as a public health innovator have earned her numerous awards and accolades. In 2005, she was named one of *Time Magazine's* 100 most influential people for her leadership in modernizing the \$11 billion agency as it faced unprecedented health threats like SARS and West Nile Virus infection. Forbes Magazine also listed her among the 100 Most Powerful Women in the world in 2005-8, a testament to CDC's growing influence around the world. Dr. Gerberding also received the Surgeon General's Medallion for actions of exceptional achievement to the cause of public health and medicine, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Public Health Service.

> 12:00 Noon Luncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel 12:45 p.m. Address by Speaker 1:15 p.m. Questions from the audience

\*\* PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend \*\*

### **OFFICERS**

President: Alan M. Horton President Elect: Wade F. Keller Vice President: Ulla Norris Past President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. Secretary: Linda H. Ottenad Treasurer: Thomas A. Bringardner Jr.

## DIRECTORS

Karna Small Bodman James H. Brennan Jr. Penny Briant Shelly Church Andrew P. DeVito M. Kathryn Eickhoff-Smith Joseph G. Fogg III J. Howard Frazer William L. Gunlicks William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu CJ Hueston Kim C. Kantor Roger D. Kempers Marilyn Korest Ralph S. Larsen Josephine A. Morse J. Richard Munro C. Arthur Pearson, M.D. David A. Rismiller Michel Saadeh C. Richard Splittorf William F. Turner Roy B. White

#### **PAST PRESIDENTS**

William S. Gentry
Leonard F. Llewellyn
Brenda C. Wilson, Esq.
Robert D. Stakich
Corbin A. Wyant
Tom Shea
Alan R. Korest
John T. Duffner, Esq.
Joe B. Cox, Esq.
William C. Sinclair
John M. Passidomo, Esq.
Donald J. York
Raymond Mueller
R. James Harvey
Carol E. Girardin
Thomas E. Ingram
Linda C. Flewelling
Edwin J. Putzell Jr.
L. Lindsey Halstead
William E. Hoglund
Richard I. Wilson
Carl J. Kuehner
W. Wallace Abbott

# THE FORUM CLUB OF SOUTHWEST FLORIDA 2008-2009 Program

11/7/08	Michael J. Berland, Former C.E.O., Penn, Schoen & Berland
11/21/08	Senator Phil Gramm, ret., Former Texas Congressman/Senator
12/12/08	Michael Ramirez, Editorial Cartoonist, Investor's Business Daily
1/9/09	Vikram S. Pandit, C.E.O., Citigroup, Inc.
1/23/09	Michael K. Farr, CNBC Commentator
1/30/09	General John Abizaid, U.S. Army, ret., Commander, U.S. Central Command
2/13/09	Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman & C.E.O., General Electric
2/20/09	John Bul Dau, Author, "God Grew Tired of Us", Lost Boys of Sudan
3/6/09	Senator David F. Durenberger, ret., Founder, Nat'l. Institute of Health Policy
3/20/09	Dr. Julie L. Gerberding, Director, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
4/3/09	Susan Page, USA Today, Washington Bureau Chief
4/17/09	Samuel W. Bodman, Secretary of Energy

### **MISSION STATEMENT**

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology;
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards;
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County; and
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students.

### FORUM CLUB STUDENT SPONSORS

The Student Guest Committee and the membership of the Forum Club wish to thank the sponsors of the student guests for the 08-09 season.

Tarik N. Ayasun Patricia M. Barton Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. Andrew P. DeVito Linda C. Flewelling William L. Gunlicks Alan & Marilyn Korest Kenneth D. Krier Thomas P. Maher Naples Daily News Richard M. Smarg William W. Ventress Midge Voss Richard I. Wilson Edward E. Wollman



Students from Barron Collier High School attended the November 21st luncheon and were sponsored by Ed Wollman.

### INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. (239) 436-3574 1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201 Naples, Florida 34102 www.TheForumClub.org / Email@TheForumClub.org