Twenty-third season November / December 2007



William A. Osborn

Speaker: William A. Osborn – Chair and C.E.O., Northern Trust Corporation

On: Friday, November 16, 2007 Location: Everglades Dining Room

William A. Osborn is chairman and chief executive officer and a director of Northern Trust Corporation and its principal subsidiary, The Northern Trust Company, Chicago.

Mr. Osborn was born and raised in Culver, Indiana. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and an M.B.A. degree from Northwestern University. He joined Northern Trust in 1970 and subsequently held leadership positions in the commercial banking and personal financial services business units. He was named president and chief operating officer in December 1993 and was named chief executive officer, in addition to president, in June 1995. He became chairman in October 1995.

Mr. Osborn is a director of Caterpillar Inc. and the Tribune Company. He is a member of the board of trustees of the Museum of Science and Industry, Northwestern University and serves as chairman of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association. He serves on the board of directors of Northwestern

Memorial HealthCare, the Chicago Urban League, The Renaissance Schools Fund and the Lyric Opera of Chicago. He also is a member of the board of managers of the YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago and the Advisory Board of the J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern. Additionally, he is a director of United Way of Metropolitan Chicago Inc., The Executives' Club of Chicago, The Chicago Council on Global Affairs, The Economic Club of Chicago, Chicago United, and The Financial Services Roundtable. He is also past chairman of The Commercial Club of Chicago and past chairman of the Civic Committee of The Commercial Club of Chicago.



Senator McConnell

Speaker: Senator Mitch McConnell – United States Senator for Kentucky

On: Friday, December 7, 2007 Location: River of Grass Dining Room

On November 15, 2006, U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell was unanimously elected Republican Leader in the 110th Congress by his Republican colleagues. Senator McConnell is the 15th Republican leader and the first party leader from Kentucky in over half a century. The last leader from Kentucky, Senator Alben Barkley, led the Democrats from 1937 to 1949. Leader McConnell previously served, again by the unanimous vote of his colleagues, as the Majority Whip in the 108th and 109th Congresses. McConnell also served in leadership as chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee during the 1998 and 2000 election cycles. He was first elected to the Senate in 1984. That year, he was the only Republican challenger in the country to defeat a Democrat incumbent, and the first Republican to win a statewide race in Kentucky since 1968. On November 5, McConnell won a fourth term with 65 percent of the vote, the largest margin of victory for a Republican in Kentucky history. The previous record was held by the

legendary Senator John Sherman Cooper. On June 27, 2005, McConnell became the longest-serving Republican Senator from Kentucky, again breaking a record previously held by Cooper.

Born on February 20, 1942, and raised in south Louisville, Senator McConnell graduated in 1964 with honors from the University of Louisville College of Arts and Sciences, where he served as student body president. In 1967, he graduated from the University of Kentucky College of Law, where he was elected president of the Student Bar Association. McConnell gained experience on Capitol Hill working as an intern for Senator John Sherman Cooper before serving as chief legislative assistant to Senator Marlow Cook and deputy assistant attorney general under President Gerald R. Ford. Before his election to the U.S. Senate, he served as County Judge-Executive in Jefferson County, Kentucky, from 1978 until he was sworn in to the Senate on January 3, 1985. Senator McConnell currently serves as a senior member of the Appropriations, Agriculture and Rules Committees. McConnell is married to United States Secretary of Labor, Elaine L. Chao, a former president of the United Way of America and director of the Peace Corps. He is the proud father of three daughters.

12:00 Noon Luncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel

12:45 p.m. Address by Speaker

1:15 p.m. Questions from the audience

** PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend **

2007-2008 OFFICERS

President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr.
President Elect: Alan M. Horton
Vice President: Dawn Litchfield Brown
Past President: W. Wallace Abbott
Secretary: Suzanne E. Lount
Treasurer: Wade F. Keller

2007-2008 DIRECTORS

Karna Small Bodman Penny Briant Thomas A. Bringardner Jr. John F. Cauley Shelly Church M. Kathryn Eickhoff-Smith Joseph G. Fogg III William L. Gunlicks Frank M. Harris William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu CJ Hueston Ralph S. Larsen Linda H. MacDuffie Ulla Norris C. Arthur Pearson, M.D. Calvin J. Pratt Lawrence R. Pugh M. Michel Saadeh Elliott H. Singer David F. Smith C. Richard Splittorf William F. Turner Roy B. White

PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder	William S. Gentry
1985	Leonard F. Llewellyn
1986	Brenda C. Wilson, Esq.
1987	Robert D. Stakich
1988	Corbin A. Wyant
1989	Tom Shea
1990	Alan R. Korest
1991	John T. Duffner, Esq.
1992	Joe B. Cox, Esq.
1993	William C. Sinclair
1994	John M. Passidomo, Esq.
1995	Donald J. York
1996-1997	Raymond Mueller
1997-1998	R. James Harvey
1998-1999	Carol E. Girardin
1999-2000	Thomas E. Ingram
2000-2001	Linda C. Flewelling
2001-2002	Edwin J. Putzell Jr.
2002-2003	L. Lindsey Halstead
2003-2004	William E. Hoglund
2004-2005	Richard I. Wilson
2005-2006	Carl J. Kuehner
2006-2007	W. Wallace Abbott

The Forum Club of Southwest Florida 2007-2008 Program

11/16/07	William A. Osborn, Chair & C.E.O., Northern Trust Corp.	
12/7/07	Senator Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senator, Kentucky	
12///0/		
1/11/08	Carmen A. Puliafito, M.D., M.B.A., Dean, Keck School of Medicine, USC	
1/25/08	H.E. Andrés Pastrana, Former President of Colombia	
2/8/08	Ambassador Richard M. Fairbanks, Counselor, Center for	
	Strategic and International Studies	
2/22/08	Admiral James O. Ellis Jr., Commander (Ret.), U.S. Strategic Command	
	Chair, President & C.E.O., Institute of Nuclear Power Operations	
3/7/08	James R. Young, Chair, President & C.E.O., Union Pacific Corp.	
3/21/08	Bill Plante, CBS News, White House Correspondent	
4/4/08	William C. Weldon, Chair & C.E.O., Johnson & Johnson	
4/18/08	Robert E. Diamond Jr., President, Barclays PLC	
5/2/08	Janet L. Robinson, President & C.E.O., The New York Times Co.	

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology;
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards;
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County; and
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students.

Welcome New Members

William R. Aikens	John R. Hall
Laurence J. Barr	Nicholas J. Kopchick
William A. Baxter	Marilyn Korest
John W. Berry	Stanley I. Kusiak
Richard S. Bodman	C. Ronald McSwiney
Thomas M. Brinker	David A. Rismiller
David M. Curtin	Richard M. Rogan
Robert Eaton	John E. Sampson
Curtis Finch Jr.	James A.Selph Jr.
Eugene U. Frey	Edmund H. Sorenson
John D. Fumagalli	Susan L. Suarez
George V. Gardner	Janice Minton Wood
Gordon R. Glorch, Sr.	

INQUIRIES

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. (239) 436-3574 1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201 Naples, Florida 34102 www.TheForumClub.org / Email@TheForumClub.org