

Our thirty-seventh season of prominent speaker programs

## November 2021

In This Issue 2021-2022 Officers 2021-2022 Directors Haley Biography Guest Ticket Request New Members 2021-2022 Speakers Past Presidents

### **OFFICERS**

**President** Susan S. Jones

**President-Elect** Edward M. Liddy

**Vice President** Elizabeth K. Wessel

**Past President** Clark T. Randt Jr.

**Secretary** Francis Rooney

**Treasurer** Christopher P. Bray

#### DIRECTORS

Randall W. Antik Paul V. Applegarth James N. Barton William E. Bindley Ilona J. Box Carol B. Boyd Todd L. Bradley



#### Nikki Haley

Fmr. U.S. Ambassador to the U.N. Fmr. Governor of S.C. Friday, November 19, 2021

Nikki Haley served as U.S. ambassador to the United Nations from 2017–2018 in the administration of U.S. President Donald Trump. Prior to that, she was the first female and first minority to serve as governor of South Carolina from 2011–2017.

Haley's parents are Indian immigrants who started a family business out of the living room of their home and transformed it into a multimillion-dollar company. She began working there while still a teenager, and, after studying accounting at Clemson University (B.S., 1994), she returned as its CFO. In 2004, Haley won a seat in the state House of Representatives from South Carolina.

In 2010, Haley ran for governor of South Carolina. During her first term, South Carolina's economy grew steadily as the jobless rate fell. Haley easily won reelection in 2014.

In 2016, she was selected to give the Republican party's response to U.S. President Barack Obama's State of the Union address. In November 2016, President-elect Trump selected her to serve as the U.S. ambassador to the United Nations. She was easily confirmed by the U.S. Senate in January 2017 with a vote of 96 to 4.

As U.N. ambassador, Haley developed a reputation for being outspoken, especially concerning Iran and North Korea, both of which were pursuing nuclear programs. In 2018, she supported Trump's decision to withdraw from the 2015 nuclear deal with Iran. Haley ensured the American people saw value for their investment at the U.N. – introducing reforms that made the organization more efficient, transparent, and accountable. In a two-year period, she negotiated over \$1.3 billion in savings, including making U.N. peacekeeping missions more effective and targeted, while improving their ability to protect civilians.

In the U.N. Security Council, Ambassador Haley worked to defend Americans' interests and keep our country safe. She spearheaded negotiations resulting in the strongest set of sanctions ever placed on North Korea for its nuclear weapons program. As U.N. Ambassador, Haley championed human rights.

Nancy H. Donovan Sandra M. Edwards Pauline T. Eide Adam C. English Jeanette M. Evert Michael K. Farr J. Douglas Gray Paul Greenberg Webb C. Hayes **Raynelle Heidrick** William R. Johnson Janet P. Rathbun Garrett S. Richter Ronald N. Riner, M.D. L. Patt Schneider John C. Smarge William D. Swartz, D.V.M.

She challenged human rights violators across the globe, standing up to oppressive regimes in Iran, Syria, Venezuela, Cuba, and Russia

Haley authored two autobiographies "Can't Is Not an Option: My American Story" and "With All Due Respect: Defending America with Grit and Grace". She and her husband Michael Haley, a combat veteran, have two children.

## Guest Ticket Requests for November 19, 2021 Amb. Nikki Haley To place a request for one guest ticket, please submit to: <u>forumclub@theforumclub.org</u> If guest tickets are available, requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by November 12, 2021 They will be mailed by that date and you will be billed \$75, or notified if there is no space. Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable.



Paul R. Abbey Richard W. Blackburn William N. Capello, M.D. Charles W. Carlsen Arthur D. Collins, Jr. Peter A. Cullman Michael J. Fitzpatrick F. Michael Gloth III, M.D. Russell A. Gullotti Lawrence E. Honig Thomas N. Kyle Gerald F. Lahey Margaret Landon Bonnie A. Larson Joel K. Lipman, M.D. David A. Mink Myra W. Morrison Donald P. Nealon John H. Odle Kenneth R. Reeves David E. Rosendahl Richard J. Ruppert Esther B. Salisbury Jeanne L. Seewald Jeffrey L. Slepian Adria D. Starkey Jay B. Stephens William H. Strong Richard C. Vaughan Roger N. Williams, M.D.

#### 2021-2022

### **SPEAKER PROGRAM**

NIKKI HALEY November 19, 2021 Fmr. U.S. Ambassador to the U.N., Fmr. Governor, S.C.

ALEX BRILL December 10, 2021 Resident Fellow, American Enterprise Institute

ALMAR LATOUR January 7, 2022 CEO, Dow Jones & Co.

AMB. HUGO LLORENS, ret. January TBA, 2022 Fmr. Ambassador to Afghanistan

DAVID W. MacLENNAN February 4, 2022 Chairman & CEO, Cargill LT. GENERAL (ret.) H.R. McMASTER February 18, 2022 Fmr. National Security Advisor

DOUGLAS E. VAUGHAN, M.D. February 25, 2022 Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

JAMES GORMAN March 18, 2022 CEO, Morgan Stanley

**PENNY PENNINGTON April 1, 2022** Managing Partner, Edward Jones

**PAUL TUDOR JONES II April 8, 2022** Founding Director, The Everglades Foundation

## **MISSION STATEMENT**

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County.
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

# **PAST PRESIDENTS**

Clark T. Randt, Jr. 2020-2021

Joseph G. Fogg, III 2019-2020

Verne G. Istock 2018-2019

Richard S. Bodman 2017-2018

Melvin C. Short Jr. 2016-2017

Shelly Church 2015-2016

Thomas B. Wheeler 2014-2015

William F. Allyn 2013-2014

Thomas A. Bringardner 2012-2013

Edward J. Putzell Jr.\* 2001-2002

Linda C. Flewelling 2000-2001

Thomas E. Ingram 1999-2000

Carol E. Girardin 1998-1999

R. James Harvey\* 1997-1998

Raymond Mueller\* 1996-1997

Donald J. York\* 1995

John M. Passidomo 1994

William C. Sinclair\* 1993 David A. Rismiller 2011-2012

> Ulla Norris 2010-2011

Wade F. Keller 2009-2010

Alan M. Horton 2008-2009

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr. 2007-2008

W. Wallace Abbott 2006-2007

Carl J. Kuehner 2005-2006

Richard I. Wilson\* 2004-2005

William E. Hoglund\* 2003-2004

L. Lindsey Halstead\* 2002-2003 Joe B. Cox 1992

John T. Duffner\* 1991

Alan R. Korest 1990

> Tom Shea 1989

Corbin A. Wyant 1988

Robert D. Stakich\* 1987

Brenda C. Wilson 1986

Leonard F. Llewellyn\* 1985

William S. Gentry\* Founder

\*deceased

#### **INQUIRIES**

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. 3200 Bailey Lane, Suite 199, Naples, FL 34105 (239) 436-3475 forumclub@TheForumClub.org www.TheForumClub.org