December Newsletter Page 1 of 3

Having trouble viewing this email? Click here



Our twenty-fifth season of prominent speaker programs

December 2009

In This Issue

Whitehorn Biography

Whitehorn Guest Ticket Request

Standing Committees

New Directors

09-10 Speakers

OFFICERS

President
Wade F. Keller
President Elect
Ulla Norris
Vice President
David A. Rismiller
Past President
Alan M. Horton
Secretary
CJ Hueston
Treasurer
Thomas A. Bringardner
Jr.

DIRECTORS

William F. Allyn Vincent J. Apruzzese James H. Brennan Jr. Penny Briant Shelly Church Andrew P. DeVito Pauline T. Eide L. Patt Franciosi J. Howard Frazer William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu Kim Ciccarelli Kantor Roger D. Kempers Marilyn Korest Kenneth D. Krier Josephine A. Morse J. Richard Munro

WILL WHITEHORN

President, Virgin Galactic Friday, December 11, 2009 Naples Beach Hotel, River of Grass Ballroom



Mr. Will Whitehorn joined the Virgin Group as Group Public Relations Manager in 1987. Over the next several years Whitehorn was responsible for presenting Virgin's joint venture strategy and spent several months working in Japan and began to move into a more general management role. He worked on the strategy to expand the brand into new areas such as financial services and telecoms. From 1995 onwards, Whitehorn became part

of a team developing the Virgin branded venture capital model for global expansion. In 1997, he became a director of Virgin Rail Group and in 2000, he was appointed Brand Development and Corporate Affairs Director for Virgin. Mr. Whitehorn became president of Virgin Galactic in 2004. He took on that role in an executive capacity and became a special advisor to Sir Richard Branson in 2007. He is also a trustee of the Virgin Unite social entrepreneurship and environmental not for profit foundation.

In addition to his Virgin involvement, Mr. Whitehorn was appointed as non-executive chairman of Next Fifteen Communications Group plc, the global technology PR consultancy, in January 2004. He is a member of the Development Board of The University of Aberdeen. In 2007, Mr. Whitehorn was also invited to join the advisory board of the BNSC (British National Space Centre). He is a member of the first Minister of Scotland's "GlobalScot" business mentoring network.

Guest Ticket Request for December 11, 2009 Will Whitehorn

To place a request for one guest ticket please submit to email@theforumclub.org. If guest tickets are available, requests are processed in order of receipt and must be received by **December 4th.** They will be mailed by that date and you will be billed \$40, or notified if there is no space. Please remember, guests must be accompanied by a member.

Page 1 of 3 11/23/2009

December Newsletter Page 2 of 3

Robert G. Nichols Linda H. Ottenad C. Arthur Pearson Richard M. Rogan Michel Saadeh John M. Stafford William F. Turner

PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder

William S. Gentry 1985

Leonard F. Llewellyn 1986

Brenda C. Wilson 1987

Robert D. Stakich 1988

Corbin A. Wyant 1989

Tom Shea **1990**

Alan R. Korest

John T. Duffner 1992

Joe B. Cox 1993

William C. Sinclair 1994

John M. Passidomo

1995 Donald J. York

1996-1997

Raymond Mueller 1997-1998

R. James Harvey **1998-1999**

Carol E. Girardin **1999-2000**

Thomas E. Ingram **2000-2001**

Linda C. Flewelling 2001-2002

Edwin J. Putzell Jr. **2002-2003**

L. Lindsey Halstead 2003-2004

William E. Hoglund 2004-2005

Richard I. Wilson **2005-2006**

Carl J. Kuehner **2006-2007**

W. Wallace Abbott **2007-2008**

Malcolm B. Chancey Jr.

INQUIRIES

Tickets are Non-exchangeable and Non-refundable

2009-2010 Standing Committees

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

Hospitality
Kim Kantor
Membership
Dave Rismiller
Programs
Ulla Norris
Student Guests

New Directors Elected

Shelly Church

Please welcome the newly elected class of 2009.

William F. Allyn
Vincent J. Apruzzese
Pauline T. Eide
L. Patt Franciosi
Kim Ciccarelli Kantor
Kenneth D. Krier
Robert G. Nichols
John M. Stafford

2009-2010 Speaker Program

NEWT GINGRICH - November 6, 2009

Former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Architect of "Contract with America"

TIM PAWLENTY - November 13, 2009

Governor of Minnesota

WILL WHITEHORN - December 11, 2009

President, Virgin Galactic

MARGARET SPELLINGS - January 8, 2010

Former U.S. Secretary of Education

DR. THOMAS M. HOENIG - January 15, 2010

President, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

DR. ROBERT A. LEVY- February 5, 2010

Chairman, CATO Institute

DR. PETER J. PRONOVOST - February 19, 2010

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine; Director, Quality and Safety Research Group, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

JOHN G. STUMPF- March 5, 2010

President and CEO, Wells Fargo & Company

Page 2 of 3 11/23/2009

December Newsletter Page 3 of 3

MICHAEL B. YANNEY - March 19, 2010

Chairman, Burlington Capital Group, LLC (To be joined by a U.S. Russian Embassy member)

of Southwest Florida, Inc. 1100 Fifth Ave. S Suite 201 Naples, Fl 34102 (239) 436-3574

Forum Club

CHARLES LEWIS - April 9, 2010

Executive Editor, Investigating Reporting Workshop

www.TheForumClub.org Email@TheForumClub.org

MISSION STATEMENT

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, business, economics, finance, government, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students

Email Marketing by

SafeUnsubscribe®

This email was sent to email@theforumclub.org by email@theforumclub.org. Update Profile/Email Address | Instant removal with SafeUnsubscribe | Privacy Policy.



Forum Club of Southwest Florida | 1100 Fifth Avenue South | Suite 201 | Naples | FL | 34102

Page 3 of 3 11/23/2009