January 2008 Twenty-third season



Dr. Puliafito

Speaker: Carmen A. Puliafito, M.D., M.B.A. – Dean, Keck School of Medicine, USC

On: Friday, January 11, 2008 **Location: Everglades Dining Room** 

Carmen A. Puliafito, M.D., M.B.A., is Dean of the Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California, holder of the May S. and John Hooval Dean's Chair in Medicine, and Professor of Ophthalmology and Health Management at the Doheny Eye Institute. Dr. Puliafito assumed his role at the Keck School on November 1, 2007. He is recognized as co-inventor of the technology of optical coherence tomography (OCT) and being the first ophthalmologist to use this technology to study the human macula in health and disease. For his work on OCT, Dr. Puliafito was awarded (along with James Fujimoto and Eric Swanson), the 2002 Rank Prize, which is a prestigious award in optoelectronics. He recently participated in the introduction of bevacizumab (Avastin) for the treatment of retinal disorders.

From 2001 to 2007, Dr. Puliafito served as chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at the University of Miami School of Medicine. He earned acclaim for creating and enacting a strategy for growth that resulted in two satellite patient care centers in Naples and Plantation, Florida. Bascom Palmer reclaimed the number one ranking in U.S. News and World Report's rankings of eye hospitals in 2004 and remained there since.

Prior to his work at Bascom Palmer, Dr. Puliafito served as founding director of the New England Eye Center and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Tufts from 1991 to 2001. During this time, he earned an M.B.A. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Puliafito began his career at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, where he was founder of the Laser Research Laboratory, director of the Morse Laser Center, a member of the Retina Service, and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School. A graduate of Harvard College and a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard Medical School, he completed his residency and fellowship at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, as well as fellowships in ophthalmic pathology and vitreoretinal diseases and surgery.



H.E. Pastrana

Speaker: H.E. Mr. Andrés Pastrana – Former President of Colombia

On: Friday, January 25, 2008 **Location: Everglades Dining Room** 

Born in 1954, Dr. Andrés Pastrana Arango was President of the Republic of Colombia from 1998 to 2002. Dr. Pastrana began his political career in 1982, by gaining a seat on the local Bogotá council. Before becoming president in 1998, he was also president of the City Council of Bogotá; he was the first elected mayor of Bogotá (1988-1990), president of the Latin American Chapter of International Union of Local Authorities (IULA); vice president of Ibero-American Union of Capital Cities (UCCI) and founder of the Party Nueva Fuerza Democratica.

During his presidency, Dr. Pastrana made some important steps with his negotiations with FARC (the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia) and ELN (National Liberation Army). His administration also proposed, and initially oversaw, the implementation of Plan Colombia aid package and anti-drug strategy.

During his father's presidency, Dr. Pastrana graduated as a lawyer from the University of Rosario in Bogotá. He was a fellow at Harvard University Center for International Affairs. He founded a magazine called *Guión* and a television news program called *Noticiero TV Hov.* He was director of TV Hoy News from 1980 to 1987. He was twice presented with the King of Spain award for journalism.

> 12:00 Noon Luncheon at The Naples Beach Hotel

12:45 p.m. Address by Speaker

1:15 p.m. Questions from the audience

\*\* PLEASE call 436-3574 by 1-week prior if you are unable to attend \*\*

## **2007-2008 OFFICERS**

President: Malcolm B. Chancey Jr.
President Elect: Alan M. Horton
Vice President: Dawn Litchfield Brown
Past President: W. Wallace Abbott
Secretary: Suzanne E. Lount
Treasurer: Wade F. Keller

## **2007-2008 DIRECTORS**

Karna Small Bodman Penny Briant Thomas A. Bringardner Jr. John F. Cauley Shelly Church M. Kathryn Eickhoff-Smith Joseph G. Fogg III William L. Gunlicks Frank M. Harris William E. Hoglund Yolande C. Hsu CJ Hueston Ralph S. Larsen Linda H. MacDuffie Ulla Norris C. Arthur Pearson, M.D. Calvin J. Pratt Lawrence R. Pugh M. Michel Saadeh Elliott H. Singer David F. Smith C. Richard Splittorf William F. Turner Roy B. White

## PAST PRESIDENTS

Founder	William S. Gentry
1985	Leonard F. Llewellyn
1986	Brenda C. Wilson, Esq.
1987	Robert D. Stakich
1988	Corbin A. Wyant
1989	Tom Shea
1990	Alan R. Korest
1991	John T. Duffner, Esq.
1992	Joe B. Cox, Esq.
1993	William C. Sinclair
1994	John M. Passidomo, Esq.
1995	Donald J. York
1996-1997	Raymond Mueller
1997-1998	R. James Harvey
1998-1999	Carol E. Girardin
1999-2000	Thomas E. Ingram
2000-2001	Linda C. Flewelling
2001-2002	Edwin J. Putzell Jr.
2002-2003	L. Lindsey Halstead
2003-2004	William E. Hoglund
2004-2005	Richard I. Wilson
2005-2006	Carl J. Kuehner
2006-2007	W. Wallace Abbott

# The Forum Club of Southwest Florida 2007-2008 Program

11/16/07	William A. Osborn, Chair & C.E.O., Northern Trust Corp.
12/7/07	Senator Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senator, Kentucky
1/11/08	Carmen A. Puliafito, M.D., M.B.A., Dean, Keck School of Medicine, USC
1/25/08	H.E. Andrés Pastrana, Former President of Colombia
2/8/08	Ambassador Richard M. Fairbanks, Counselor, Center for
	Strategic and International Studies
2/22/08	Admiral James O. Ellis Jr., Commander (Ret.), U.S. Strategic Command
	Chair, President & C.E.O., Institute of Nuclear Power Operations
3/7/08	James R. Young, Chair, President & C.E.O., Union Pacific Corp.
3/21/08	Bill Plante, CBS News, White House Correspondent
4/4/08	William C. Weldon, Chair & C.E.O., Johnson & Johnson
4/18/08	Robert E. Diamond Jr., President, Barclays PLC
5/2/08	Janet L. Robinson, President & C.E.O., The New York Times Co.

# **MISSION STATEMENT**

The Forum Club's mission is to:

- Provide a congenial meeting atmosphere for members to enjoy prominent speakers in fields such as academia, health, international relations, media and the arts, science and technology;
- Promote the highest civic, moral and ethical standards;
- Share the "Forum Club Experience" with outstanding high school students in Collier County; and
- Provide scholarships to Collier County high school students.

## 2007-2008 STANDING COMMITTEES

The Board of Directors welcomes your comments and concerns. Please address them in writing to the appropriate committee chairs.

Education Ulla Norris Hospitality Suzie Lount

Membership Dawn Litchfield Brown

Programs Alan Horton Student Guests Wade Keller

## NEW DIRECTORS ELECTED

Please welcome the newly elected class of 2010: Penny Briant, Tom Bringardner, Shelly Church, Bill Hoglund, Yolande Hsu, Art Pearson, Michel Saadeh and Bill Turner

## Inouries

Forum Club of Southwest Florida, Inc. (239) 436-3574 1100 Fifth Avenue South, Suite 201 Naples, Florida 34102 www.TheForumClub.org / Email@TheForumClub.org